Innovation 'Novel technology for research, development, and production of peptide therapeutics' nominated for the Berlin Brandenburg 2020 Innovation Award


The innovation 'Novel technology for research, development, and production of peptide therapeutics' was nominated for the Berlin Brandenburg 2020 Innovation Award. Berlin-based chemistry-for-healthcare startup Belyntic GmbH submitted the innovation as part of this year's competition from the states of Berlin and Brandenburg.

"The nomination is a great honor for us. Our vision is to enable a healthier life through our innovation and we are very pleased about the growing interest in it", says co-founder Andreas Regnery.

Belyntic has developed a chemical linker molecule-based technology to manufacture and purify peptides (short proteins). The process enables significantly greater reliability in pharmaceutical drug research and development as well as the efficient production of complex and, therefore, more effective peptide therapeutics to treat cancer, diabetes, or infectious diseases such as COVID-19. Given solvent savings of more than 75%, the process is ecologically and economically attractive.

"We founded our company two years ago. Since then, we have continuously developed our product portfolio and technology offer to get closer to our vision. We are pleased about the nomination. It’s a very valuable acknowledgment that we are on the right track", says co-founder Dominik Sarma. Based on its technology, Belyntic will develop its own therapeutic peptide vaccines from 2021.

The jury of the Berlin Brandenburg Innovation Award, chaired by Prof. Oliver Günther, President of the University of Potsdam, selected eleven nominees out of 221 best innovations in the capital region for the Berlin Brandenburg Innovation Award. On November 27, 2020, the nominees will be honored via live stream, and five winners will be awarded the Berlin Brandenburg Innovation Award.

About the Innovation Award:

The Berlin Brandenburg Innovation Award has been awarded jointly by the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises and the Brandenburg Ministry for Economic Affairs, Labour and Energy. Since 1984, more than 4,000 applications have been submitted and over 160 award winners have been awarded. Up to five award winners are honored each year. The nominations of the finalists and award winners are traditionally made by an independent jury of experts. A jury, which is formed by independent personalities from regional and national (supraregional) economy and science and whose expertise can be assigned to the five interstate clusters, decides on the awarding of the innovation award. The awards are endowed with 10,000 euros each. Read more 

Social Media